The Magical Whitening Power Of The Sun

Don’t you just love the fresh whiteness of clothes taken off the line? There’s something incredibly therapeutic about hanging things out to dry, and the wind-blown, sun-dried smell of the clothes is unparalleled.

There’s another benefit too: the sun makes clean-but-griming-looking whites white again! No chemical bleach necessary. And it sanitizes and disinfects at the same time!

I’ve been using this “technique” to whiten and sanitize cloth diapers since I started using them years ago, and I’m still amazed at how brilliantly the sun does its job! The other day we had a rare sunny winter day, so I tossed some diapers outside and snapped some before and after pictures.

Here is a diaper clean out of the washing machine, but looking pretty stained!

20140301-160105.jpg

I have a little porch out my bedroom door that is perfect for sunning things! (Notice the obnoxiously yellow diaper right in front.)

20140301-160232.jpg

And a couple of hours later, this is what it looked like!

20140301-160439.jpg

I left everything out for just a little longer, until the low-hanging winter sun had completed its magic. And the final result was:

20140301-160625.jpg

Pretty extraordinary, really. I love re-learning things our grandmas knew all along!

3 thoughts on “The Magical Whitening Power Of The Sun

  1. That’s pretty cool! I have some curtains that have yellowed in the window, I wonder if they would whiten again if I left them outside!

  2. Pingback: Monday Musings | Love My Lil Peeps

Leave a Comment

