Simple Kid Lunch: Beans and Rice

There are some days that “what’s for lunch, Mommy?” is the second to last thing I want to hear, trumped only by “nooooo, I don’t want that! I want something else!” Really, kid? Maybe no lunch and a nap is what you’d rather have?!
Rather than emotionally and verbally spar with a hungry toddler or preschooler, I have a little trick up my sleeve to easily get me out of this lose-lose situation: beans and rice.

I realize this may seem simplistic. And possibly like I’m copping out making something I know they like when I don’t want to deal with fussing (to be fair, they most often don’t fuss when I say what’s for lunch, but if I think they’re going to, I consider myself a bit of a genius for heading them off at the pass). Also, I’m not really sure why this particular meal is such a favorite, but it’s healthy and easy, so it works for me! Besides, I love hearing the lil peeps cheer when I put their plates in front of them.

Beans and Rice
About 2 cups of cooked rice (or 1 pouch pre-cooked)
1 can black, pinto, or kidney beans
Garlic powder and cumin to taste
Sour cream, avocado, cheese, salsa, etc. as toppings (optional)

Heat beans and rice in a pan

20140416-170556.jpg

Add a few shakes each of garlic powder and cumin

20140416-170711.jpg

Garnish as you please!

20140416-170745.jpg

See? Nothing to it!

Do you have a no-fail, easy meal you like to make for your kiddos? Please share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Simple Kid Lunch: Beans and Rice

  1. We eat red beans and rice once a week for dinner. (Matthew’s recipe; he makes them.) We came by this habit in New Orleans, where it’s traditional to eat them on Mondays. This originated in the old days, when women there did their wash on Monday. You could simmer the leftover ham bone from Sunday’s supper with some beans all day long while you washed the laundry, for a simple, hearty dinner. I love red beans and rice; I find the simplicity of the dish very centering for me.

Leave a Comment

